CHAMPIONS! Gosberton B (from left) Des Forbes, Marcus Pell and Shane White.

Gosberton B crowned champions

Gosberton B are champions of the Spalding Billiards League, despite losing 5-2 to Consti A in their final match of the season.
It went to the wire with just five points separating them and second-placed Holbeach B going into the final week.
Holbeach B won 5-2 away at bottom-of-the-league Pyramid A but it wasn’t quite enough and Gosberton took the title by just two points.
Billiards Handicap champion Des Forbes (R50), playing for Gosberton, was hoping to keep his good form up but apart from a first visit 25 break, he never really got going, his opponent Alan Hansard (R80) winning 200-148.
Shane White (O50) struggled to get going against John Bellerby (R80), but two late breaks of 29 and 31 from White saw him finally get within touching distance, but Bellerby held his nerve to get home 200-183.
An uphill task was on the cards for captain, Marcus Pell (O40) against Stuart Davies (R80) in the final frame.
It was a tense affair, even though Pell scored an early 23, he couldn’t narrow the gap much before a well crafted 47 break brought him into the match.
Consti captain Davies was getting high teen breaks to keep it going to the wire, but Marcus played out as winner by 200-191.
Denis Hix (R70) and Neil Harvey (R50) got the wins for Holbeach B but it wasn’t quite enough and they ended the season as worthy runners-up.
The third match of the evening saw Holbeach A take on Pyramid B, with Holbeach coming out on top, winning 5-2 and finishing third in the league.
Mick Cooper (O190) scored breaks of 53, 43, 42, 33, 25, 21 and 20 in his victory over Martin O’Connor (R40), with the final score standing at 200-140.
Phil Coaten (R70) got the better of Darrell Read (R30) to win his frame, while Maurice Phillipson (R70) took the points for Pyramid, beating Ben Harding (R40) 200-173.
Donington and Consti B were without matches this week.

Leave a Reply