Denny Cup winners. Back from left: Nick Wilkie, Stephen Harris, Dan Mills, Jack Wells, Mathew Orrey, Jordan Philpott, Ean Morton, Lewis Parnell. Front: Brian Martin, Martin Spencer, Tristan Morton, Dominic McVittie, Graham Smith, Martin Simpson, Ollie Jeapes, Simon Lilley, Kevin Ekins.

Spalding’s Lightning strikes again in Denny Cup victory

Spalding Lightning lifted the Denny Cup trophy for the second time in three seasons with a victory over Torquay United in Nottingham on Saturday.

The cup is considered to be the top inter-club competition and the final had some of the country’s best players on show.
Lightning started strongly and built a significant lead, mainly thanks to the rinks skipped by Jordan Philpott and Dominic McVittie, who raced into 20-0 and 13-1 leads against England stars Sam Tolchard and Jamie Walker respectively.
Spalding went 30 shots ahead and, while the Devon side showed their battling qualities to reduce the deficit to 17, the lead proved too much as Lightning ran out
92-65 victors.
The travelling support and team kit sponsors, Bridgestone Tyres and Roythornes Solicitors were thanked for their backing.
Rink scores – Dan Mills, Ollie Jeapes, Graham Smith and Mathew Orrey won 26-14; Lewis Parnell, Martin Simpson, Martin Spencer and Dominic McVittie won 29-17; Kevin Ekins, Nick Wilkie, Simon Lilley and Jordan Philpott won
22-12; Stephen Harris, Brian Martin, Ean Morton and Tristan Morton
lost 15-22.
Spalding Lightning continued their impressive run at the National Championships held at Nottingham, as they added the Ladies Triples title to the trophy cabinet. After wining the title in 2021 and adding the British crown in 2022, Ruby Hill, Chelsea Spencer and Annie Dunham were one of the favourites.
In the last 16, they had a relatively comfortable 19-7 win against a team from Egham and followed up with a 19-16 victory against Hartlepool, who had won the National Fours title a week earlier.
In the semi-final, the Spalding trio had to battle hard against a team from the host club and at one stage found themselves 12-2 behind. They went into the last end two shots adrift but held their nerve to pick up three shots and win the match 19-18.

In the final they faced a Lakenheath side skipped by England international Anna Chalk and including former Spalding member Lauren Finbow.
The match was streamed on EIBA TV and the Lightning team started well by picking up seven shots on the first end.
Although the Lakenheath team contributed to a high-quality final, the Spalding women proved too strong as they ran out
26-16 victors.
They will now represent England at next season’s British Isles Championships.
Lincolnshire County South Division champions Spalding Ladies held their nerve to earn a 72-71 victory in the Trudy Bates competition at Sleaford.
Their opposition were Lincoln and the North Division winners started strongly to open a 17-shot lead after five ends.
The Spalding team battled hard and by the halfway stage the match was level. Spalding led by two shots with one rink left to finish. Betty Deaton and her rink kept their cool as they consolidated to drop one shot, which meant Spalding won by a single point to keep hold of the trophy.
Rink scores – Sue Jackson, Sue Slayven, Trish Stafford and Maggie Wheatley won 26-9, Ann Newbury, Michelle Billingsley, Petrine Ault and Betty Deaton won
25-17; Carole Nunney, Hazel Tokley, Mandy Parkins and Julie Hicks lost 13-22; Jan Sinclair, Anita Phillips, Sandra Hammond and Maisie Belding
lost 8-23.

Trudy Bates winners. From left: Maggie Wheatley, Ann Newbury, Petrine Ault, Sandra Hammond, Betty Deaton, Maisie Belding, Sue Jackson, Julie Hicks, Anita Phillips, Michelle Billingsley, Trish Stafford, Chris Jackson, Carole Nunney, Jan Sinclair, Mandy Parkins, Sue Slayven and Hazel Tokley. Also in the squad were Jean Patterson, Sheila Chamberlain and Carly Morris.

Leave a Reply