JOY OF SIX: Brett Whaley’s side face new challenges. Photo by JAKE WHITELEY

Six new tests for Spalding United next season as they stay put in NPL Midlands Division

Fresh challenges await Spalding United next season after they were confirmed as members of the Pitching In NPL Midlands Division for another year.

Six new teams have joined the 20-team division, with Dereham Town and St Neots Town moving sideways and Boldmere St Michael’s, Gresley Rovers, Harborough Town and Hinckley LR all promoted from Step Five.

Missing from last season are promoted duo Ilkeston Town (champions) and Belper Town (play-off winners), while Wisbech Town, Histon and Soham Town Rangers were relegated.

Carlton Town, who finished just outside of the play-offs, have also moved sideways to the East Division, where they are joined by Grantham Town.

The Gingerbreads could have potentially been another Lincolnshire derby for Brett Whaley’s Tulips following their relegation from Step Three, but have been placed elsewhere.

As with all leagues in the non-league pyramid, the new line-ups are all subject to any appeals, which are scheduled for early June.

The 2022/23 NPL Midlands Division line-up: Bedworth United, Boldmere St Michael’s, Cambridge City, Chasetown, Coleshill Town, Corby Town, Daventry Town, Dereham Town, Gresley Rovers, Halesowen Town, Harborough Town, Hinckley LR, Loughborough Dynamo, Shepshed Dynamo, Spalding United, Sporting Khalsa, St Neots Town, Stamford, Sutton Coldfield Town and Yaxley.

Leave a Reply