Kelly Foster winners Draymans A – Steve Urch, Richard Cooper, Josh Grainger, Logan Goddard, Kev Newton, Phil Newton and Sonia K.

Darts finals night sees success for youngster Logan Goddard

Spalding and District Darts League players took to the oche for their finals night recently.

The first game of the night was the Kelly Foster Cup final which was an all-Drayman’s Arms affair.
The Division 1 A team beat the Division 2 B team, only dropping just one game on the way.
The fifth and decisive win came from Josh Grainger against Shane Thorpe to take the victory.
Dan Wheatley and Sandy Sandison were the only winners for the B team in a pairs game.
Next up was the Dick Morgan Cup which saw Royal Mail Cart romp home against the Punchbowl.
The team of Harry, Paul and Josh Faulkner, Steve Rawding, Jacob Herd and Daz Lawes did not drop a game.
The final team game of the night was the Supreme Cup which saw Division 1 winners Tigers C take on Division 1 runners up Consti A.
Tigers went 2-1 up after the pairs, before Jack Chilvers levelled for Consti A beating Pete Richardson.
Wins for Mark Horspool and Simon Hill put Tigers 4-2 up, before a great win for Kieran Bowman against Ant Richardson took the game to 4-3, but experienced Duncan Hunt got the win needed to take the match for Tigers.
The Mixed Pairs was a family affair with husband and wife Duncan and Nicky Hunt edging out mother and son Lindsey Wingell and Richardson.
The ladies’ singles went to the wire with Sharon Barnard beating Lesley Chamberlain 2-1.
The Captain’s Cup went to Drayman’s A captain Kev Newton, who hit three scores of 100 plus in his 2-0 win against Rose and Crown’s Hank Watson.
Oscar’s Bar went all season without winning a game but saw Andy Taylor and Jonny Pell win 2-1 in the Division 2 pairs final against Tigers B’s Ian McCreery and Arthur Porter.
Another family tie saw father and son-in-law Mark Horspool and Hill use their experience to beat Consti D’s Ady Smith and Colin Beckett in the Division 1 pairs final.
The Division 2 singles went to Lincoln Arms B captain John Charlton who eased to a 3-0 win against Oscar’s Bar’s Taylor.
The prestigious final of the night, Division 1 singles, was won by Logan Goddard, of Drayman’s A, who had a 180 in the final and scored consistently to beat Watson.
It’s predicted that this will be one of many titles for Goddard, who competes on the PDC youth tour.
Other trophies given out included:
Division 1 Most 180s, which went to the PDC’s Scott Williams, who hit 12
Division 2 Most 180s was won by Charlton who hit two during the season
Division 2 highest check-out winner was McCreery, who had the three highest check-outs, winning with a 138
Division 1 highest check-out was won on the last game of the season by legend Mark Waters, who hit a 164.
Most wins in Division 1 was won by Williams and Most Wins in Division 2 was won by Dave Norbury.
Both players having a 100 per cent record for the season.
Thanks go to MC Ian Tilley, league sponsor JMC and to Spalding Services Club for hosting the evening.

Dick Morgan Cup Winners Royal Mail Cart – Paul Faulkner, Steve Rawding, Jacob Herd, Josh Grainger and Harry Grainger.

Division 1 Singles finalists – runner up Hank Watson and winner Logan Goddard.

Tigers C Division 1 winners and Supreme Cup winners – Simon Hill, Ant Richardson, Steve Dent, Pete Richardson, Nicky Hunt, Mark Horspool, Brian Fines and Duncan Hunt.

Division 2 singles – winner John Charlton and runner Up Andy Taylor

Mixed Pairs winners – Nicky and Duncan Hunt with League Chairman Ian Tilley (centre).

Leave a Reply