Sensational six-trophy haul for Five Bells C in Holbeach and District Darts League

Unstoppable Five Bells C completed a remarkable Holbeach and District Darts League sextuple after bagging five more trophies on finals night.

The top tier champions added the Florida Cup, Tony Canham Cup, Caley Cup, Maurice Clark ‘3s’ Cup and Division One Team Cup to their cabinet at Tigers Social Club on Friday night.

The trophy rush began in the Florida Cup, with Five Bells beating Rose and Crown 13-3.

Next up was the Tony Canham Cup (Fives) final, where they dispatched Horse and Groom 4-1.

Team members Dan Vaughan, Barry Bell, Ashley Allen and Colin Seaton then brought home trophy number three as they beat Long Sutton RBL 2-0 in the Caley Cup.

Tony Middleton, Kevin Newton, Nick Horspool and Dawn MacTavish were the beaten Sutton throwers.

Red-hot trio Bell, Allen and Vaughan were at it again in the Maurice Clark final, handing Five Bells A’s Martin Ainslie, Terry Gray and Phil Newton a 2-0 defeat.

Not done there, Five Bells C rounded off their incredible evening by beating Rose and Crown 10-5 in the Division One Team Cup final.

Away from the Five Bells monopoly, Long Sutton RBL lifted the Shelton Cup after seeing off Division Two rivals Crown and Mitre 11-5.

Kevin Newton threw an impressive 180 in that clash.

In the Gilder Pairs, Crown and Mitre’s Andrew Horspool and Gordon Smith got the better of Rose and Crown duo Ken Beeton and Reece Kerry 2-0 in the Division Two finale.

The Division One version went the way of Danny Goddard and Alex Gostic (Horse and Groom), as they saw off Adam Brand and Simon Waterfall from Rose and Crown.

There was an emphatic 180 from Long Sutton RBL’s MacTavish as she lifted the Ladies’ Peachey Cup at the expense of Nicola Hargreaves (Greyhound) in a 2-0 triumph.

Kevin Newton then landed the Division Two Clark Cup singles title, throwing a 180 in a 17-dart leg to beat Andrew Horspool.

The Division One singles crown went to Five Bells C ace Bell, who beat team-mate Vaughan 2-0.

Meanwhile, Crown and Mitre beat NSH 10-5 in the Division Two Team Cup.

Leave a Reply