CLOSE RACING: Action from Sunday's Frostbite Series race at Welland Yacht Club.

Prior bags Frostbite victory and Katie stars as Welland Yacht Club dish out silverware

Race ace Andy Prior emerged victorious at the second round of Welland Yacht Club’s Frostbite Series on Sunday.

Ten boats took to the starting line with reasonably strong breeze and stronger gusts forecast – and it was Helen Boyd (Solo) who got away first, followed by Geri van Haren (Phantom) and then Prior (Laser Radial).

Behind them were Alan Cox and crew Mark Holland (RS 200), Gail Follington (Comet), Nick Bonsor (Solo), Richard Stedman (Laser 4.7), Eric Murray (Mirror) and the Laser Radial-sailing duo of Katie Follington and Ben Parsons.

As they made their way up to the top mark, van Haren took the lead with Boyd second, Cox-Holland third, Bonsor fourth, Prior fifth and Gail Follington sixth.

During the second and final lap Prior would make gains and eventually take second place before rounding the top mark.

So, first across the line was van Haren followed by Prior, then Cox-Holland, Katie Follington, Gail Follington, Parsons, Stedman, Boyd, Bonsor and Murray.

However, once handicaps were applied Prior would take the win with Gail Follington second and van Haren third.

Sail of the day went to young Katie Follington, though, as she managed to fight off the gusts until capsizing near the end, then with a quick recovery ended up fifth – but only 30 seconds adrift from third place.

  • Saturday night saw Welland hold their presentaion night. Trophy winners are as follows: Andy Prior – Frostbite (2020), Robert Creek Shield, Tulip Trophy, Morning Points, Munson Cup, Grounds Trophy, Sunday Points, Autumn Points, R Glenn Challenge Bowl and Masters Trophy; Mark Scourfield – Welland Paddle, Afternoon Points and Carl Bilbie Pursuit Trophy; Tom Bell – Tulip Trophy (2nd), Flag Officers Cup and George Haistings Coaching Award; Mark Holland – Pursuit Series, most improved helm, bailer trophy; Neal Tack & Rebecca Slator – Lowlands Trophy; Rebecca Slator – Maclaren Crew Trophy; Will Cook & Emma Hill – Tulip Trophy (3rd); Alan Cox – Anne Smith Perseverance Trophy; Helen Boyd – Talents Trophy; Paul Burton (of Girton Sailing Club) – Richard Thacker Trophy open meeting; Ella Skidmore – Junior Crew of the year.

All-new club championship table winner – Andy Prior.

Light-hearted awards: Tomb Stone Trophy (best capsize) – Richard Holland; Headline Grabber – Helen Boyd; Recovery Award –Ben Parsons; Handyman Award – Mark Scourfield & Eric Murray; Helping Hand Award – Andy Agar & Richard Stedman; Best Turned Out Boat – Nick Bonsor; Best Dressed – Mark Scourfield.

Leave a Reply