TROPHY TIME! Long Sutton Hockey Club's award winners are pictured at their end of season bash on Saturday.

Popular presentation night celebrates a successful Long Sutton Hockey Club season

Long Sutton Hockey Club finished their season on a high note with a well-attended presentation evening on Saturday.

The club came together to celebrate in style and show what a tremendous season they’ve enjoyed – with the awards get shared between the ages.

The obvious high note saw Sutton’s men’s 2nd team winning their league and gaining promotion in East Men’s Hockey League Division 3NW. But, with the rest of the teams finishing mid-table, it is certainly a noteworthy season for the club.

Award winners 2018/19 season

Men’s 1st: Top scorer – Josh Baker; Players’ player – Harry Synnott; Captain’s player – Tom Burton.

Ladies’ 1st: Top scorer – Connie Gittins; Players’ player – Emmy Gittins; Captain’s player – Gemma Parr.

Men’s 2nd: Top scorer – Josh Fyson; Players’ player – Jimmy Harrison; Captain’s player – James Collingwood-Smith.

Ladies’ 2nd: Top scorer – Hannah Baker; Players’ player – Ali Monaghan; Captain’s player – Lucy Smith.

Men’s 3rd: Top scorer – Ian White; Players’ player – George Neale; Captain’s player – Josh Woodrow.

Umpires’ Award – Jack Smith.

Young player of the Year Award – Connie Gittins.

Chairman’s Award – Lynne Braginton.

  • Sutton are still running walking hockey (9.30am-10.15am) and back to hockey sessions (10.15am-11am) every Saturday until the end of May at £2 a session.

Leave a Reply