JUST CHAMPION: Nicola Elphick (right) is pictured with lady president Brenda Barton.

Golf round-up: On-song Elphick takes President’s prize at Sutton Bridge event

Nicola Elphick put in a stellar showing to win Sutton Bridge Golf Club’s nine-hole Lady President’s Day competition.

Her score of 18 points was enough to edge Judy Green (17 points) into second place, with Betty Reeve four points back in third. Alice Green landed the nearest to the pin prize.

Other results: May Medal: 1st Betty Reeve; 2nd Christine Burrell; 3rd Roz Fridholm.

May nine-hole competition: 1st Jenny Wells; 2nd Janet Simpson; 3rd Jill McEwan.

Match result: Sutton Bridge ladies 2 Kirton Holme ladies 2 (Chris Burrell & Diana Coe lost, Jill McEwan & Carol Caney lost, Margaret Fox & Nicola Elphick won, Karen Gillett & Diane Wareham won).

Match result: Sutton Bridge ladies 1 Heacham Manor 2 (Margaret Fox & Diana Coe lost, Karen Gillett & Diane Wareham won, Jill McEwan & Nicola Elphick lost).


Men’s section: Match result: Tydd 3 Gedney Hill 3 (Luke Rowell & Ady Rowell won 4&2, Terry Pease & Derek Hodgson won 4&3, Neil John & Mark Whittaker lost 5&3, Malcolm Stead & Andy Betts lost 1 down, Tim Hines & Link Gostic lost 3&2, Paul Chaplain-Barton & Gary Fitzjohn lost 4&3).

Match result: Gedney Hill B 3 Tydd B 3 (Phil Tilney & Andy Sleath won 2&1, David Dalrymple & Andy Hicks lost 3&2, Tom Carnihan & Vaughan Dibble lost 2&1, John Nobbs & Jimmy Woods won 3&2, James Horscroft & Andy Jackson halved, Peter Wheeler & Keith Jakings halved).

Seniors’ section: Stableford Vouchers competition: D1 – 1st Peter Wheeler 37pts; 2nd Ron Colledge 36pts; 3rd Derrick Marsh 32pts. D2 – 1st Tim Martin 37pts (ocb); 2nd David Abram 37pts (ocb); 3rd Ian Millet 37pts. D3 – 1st Gary Brown 41pts; 2nd Ron Clines 35pts; 3rd Barrie Mutimer 34pts. D4 – 1st John Gamble 38pts; 2nd Keith Horspole 35pts (ocb); 3rd John Matthews 35pts.


Men’s section: May Day Cup: 1st Chris Davies 43pts; 2nd Stuart Turnell 38 (ocb); 3rd Kieran Higgs 38.

Seniors’ section: 3 Club Competition: 1st Mervyn Davies 35pts; 2nd; Raffaele Ragosa 34 (ocb); 3rd Tom Penning 34.

May Medal: Cat 1 – 1st Neil Sargeant 73nett; 2nd Bob Townsend 77; 3rd Steve Sayer 83. Cat 2 – 1st Keith Cooper 72 nett; 2nd Peter Orbine 73; 3rd Greg Walsh 74 (ocb). Cat 3 – 1st Noel Delaney 81 nett; 2nd Mick Bliss 84; 3rd Ralph Ragosa 86 (ocb).

Ladies’ section: May Medal: 1st Chris Bennett 79 nett; 2nd Maggie Bingham 80.

Anniversary Competition: 1st Paul Purcell 42pts; 2nd Mo Parling 41pts (ocb); 3rd James Smith 41pts.

Leave a Reply