Jim Scarsbrook, Independent candidate for South Holland District Council's Moulton, Weston and Cowbit ward

Former South Holland District Council returning officer Jim is now running for a seat

Former South Holland District Council officer Jim Scarsbrook will feature in the election results in May.

But instead of reading them out – as he was four years ago – he’s planning to be one of the candidates announced as “duly elected”.

Mr Scarsbrook (61), who is standing for the Independent Group, was returning officer at the last count in 2011.
In fact it was one of his final acts for the council before leaving through redundancy.

Mr Scarsbrook, who is vice-chairman of Moulton Parish Council and is involved with Moulton Community Association, is standing in Moulton, Cowbit and Weston ward against Conservative councillors with whom he worked for several years.

He said: “I’ve got nothing against the three councillors, but I wouldn’t want to stand anywhere else. It’s because of my interests in Moulton, but the ward is much bigger than that.”

Mr Scarsbrook is one of a number of fresh Independent Group candidates, including Jeanne Sibley (Long Sutton), Paul Chapman (Fleet), Anthony Cronin and Geraldine Scholes (Spalding Wygate) and Val Gemmell (The Saints).

Mrs Scholes stood for the Conservatives in Crowland and Deeping St Nicholas in 2011. She now lives in Spalding and wants to “be a voice of the local people and not a political candidate”.

Meanwhile, hoping to regain a seat on the district council is Spalding and District Civic Society chairman Robert West, who was third out of three for the two-seat Spalding St Mary’s ward last time out.

Independent Group candidates declared so far are listed below. Four others have chosen not to declare their candidature yet.

Group leader Coun Angela Newton said: “I am hoping to fill more seats prior to close of nominations.
“If there is anybody who is thinking of standing for council, who wants further information, and wants to stand as an Independent candidate, please contact me on 07939 559764 or anewton@sholland.gov.uk.”

Crowland and Deeping St Nicholas
Bryan Alcock*
Paul Barrett

Donington, Quadring and Gosberton
Jane King*

Paul Chapman

Sarah Wilkinson*

Holbeach Town
Martin Howard*

Long Sutton
Jeanne Sibley
David Wilkinson*
Andy Tennant*

Moulton, Weston and Cowbit
Jim Scarsbrook

Spalding Monkshouse
Angela Newton*

Spalding St John’s
Graham Dark*
Roger Perkins*

Spalding St Mary’s
Robert West

Spalding Wygate
Anthony Cronin
Geraldine Scholes

Sutton Bridge
Michael Booth*
Chris Brewis*

The Saints
Val Gemmell

(* denotes current council member)

Leave a Reply