POPULAR FIGURE: Brad Wells will be missed by Spalding United. Photo by JAKE WHITELEY

Ex-boss Frecklington raids Spalding United to take 30-goal Wells to Gainsborough

Top scorer Bradley Wells has left Spalding United to join higher-graded Gainsborough Trinity.

Wells, who bagged 30 goals for the Tulips last term, has been snapped up by former Spalding boss Dave Frecklington – who brought him to the Sir Halley Stewart Playing Field from Stamford at the start of last season.

Speaking on Twitter, Wells said: “It wasn’t an easy decision to leave Spalding as they’ve helped me and brought me on as a player.

“I’d like to say thank you to (boss) Chris Rawlinson, the chairman and all the backroom staff for looking after me.

“Hopefully Chris and the lads will have another good season and this time get promoted.”

Meanwhile, Spalding’s Evo-Stik NPL First Division South opponents for next season have been revealed – and there are some tasty clashes on the cards.

ChromaSport UCL Premier Division winners Peterborough Sports are the headline act, with Jimmy Dean’s side boasting a host of ex-Tulips – the likes of Josh Moreman, Mark Jones, Dan  Banister and Dan Lawlor – in their ranks.

Lincolnshire side Cleethorpes are also in the mix alongside Stamford and Lincoln United, meaning the division has a much more local feel than in recent seasons.

Corby Town, Alvechurch and Ilkeston are the other new sides for Spalding to contend with, but AFC Rushden and Diamonds have moved sideways to Southern League Division One Central.

The 2017/18 Evo-Stik NPL First Division South line-up (last season’s division in brackets): Alvechurch (Mid), Basford United (NPL 1S), Bedworth United (NPL 1S), Belper Town (NPL 1S), Carlton Town (NPL 1S), Chasetown (NPL 1S), Cleethorpes Town (NCEL), Corby Town (NPL P), Gresley (NPL 1S), Ilkeston (NPL P) , Kidsgrove Athletic (NPL 1S), Leek Town (NPL 1S), Lincoln United (NPL 1S), Loughborough Dynamo (NPL 1S), Market Drayton Town (NPL 1S), Newcastle Town (NPL 1S), Peterborough Sports (UCL), Romulus (NPL 1S), Sheffield FC (NPL 1S), Spalding United (NPL 1S), Stamford (NPL 1S), Stocksbridge Park Steels (NPL 1S).

Leave a Reply